John Allen Chau: My Thoughts From 5 Years Ago

In November of 2018, John Allen Chau was killed trying to give the gospel to an unreached tribe on a North Sentinelese island. The Christian world was praising/condemning him for his courage/irresponsibility. Five years later, his death is still being discussed. And as I was reflecting on that time, I found an old paper where I had recorded my thoughts at the time. I’ve decided to share here what was going through my head five years ago in the hopes that it might be an encouragement to you and a reminder to me.


11/22/18

Recently, an American missionary was killed by an unreached people group to whom he was trying to bring the gospel. This is a sad but encouraging story. One of his concerns about dying on the island was, “Who will take my place?” What a challenge! “Who will go for us” (Isa 6:8)? Here am I Lord. Send me. Maybe not to this place, but how many places need this glorious gospel? Lord, send me and my family to the unreached! Please guide us together. Give us unity.

After reading the account of this missionary, I came across this verse in my daily Bible reading: “Rescue those who are being taken away to death; hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter. IF YOU SAY, ‘Behold, we did not know this,’ does not He who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who keeps watch over you soul know it, and will He not repay man according to his work” (Prov 24:11-12)? It felt almost like a personal indictment. All those outside of Christ are headed to the slaughter. They are headed to the just wrath of the holy God. And do I say in my heart that I am ignorant to this? By no means! Lord, use us to rescue those being taken away to death! Open doors for your word and give boldness to speak the truth. Grant my family a passion for the lost and zeal for your glory.

Jacob Crouch 2023

One thought on “John Allen Chau: My Thoughts From 5 Years Ago

  1. That’s a powerful entry of your thoughts! I will be thinking on it throughout the day today…how vividly do I keep this picture in my mind? Thank you for the Proverbs 24 passage. I’m highlighting it in my Bible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment